At E Source Forum 2018 in Denver, E Source announced the winners of its Utility Ad Awards Contest. First place in the categories of Best Energy-Efficiency and Demand-Response Programs Campaign and Best Brand Campaign went to PNM and Duke Energy, respectively. Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) earned first place in the category of Best Distributed Energy Resources Campaign, and ComEd won first place for Best Self-Service Campaign. The contest was open to electric and gas utilities in the US and Canada.

An independent group of judges selected the winners based on message, creativity, results, call to action or brand connection, and overall impression. Judges included Mindy Cheval, University of Colorado at Boulder, School of Journalism and Mass Communication; Lucia Riley, SAS; A.J. Schmitz, Progressive Marketing Group (PMG); and Arthur Germain and Michael Simbrom, Communication Strategy Group.

“We’re thrilled to celebrate the 10th anniversary of our utility ad contest. Over the past decade, we’ve received more than 3,000 ad submissions to populate E Source Energy AdVision, a database tool that gives our utility members access to this vast library of campaigns,” says Sannie Sieper, director of marketing at E Source. “This contest has put us in the unique position of witnessing utilities adapt to the changing advertising landscape, adopt new technologies and platforms, and meet ever-changing customer needs. E Source congratulates these innovative marketing and advertising teams!”

2018 E Source Utility Ad Awards Contest Winners

Best Energy-Efficiency and Demand-Response Programs Campaign

  • PNM
  • Toronto Hydro
  • Duke Energy

Best Brand Campaign

  • Duke Energy
  • Touchstone Energy Cooperatives
  • FortisBC

Best Distributed Energy Resources Campaign

  • Sacramento Municipal Utility District
  • Southern California Gas Co.
  • Georgia Power

Best Self-Service Campaign

  • ComEd
  • Hydro One
  • PECO

E Source presented Efficiency Nova Scotia with the Crowd-Pleaser Award, based on online recognition. Facebook users voted by visiting the E Source Facebook page and “liking” their favorite video advertisement.

The Judges’ Choice award went to Hydro One. This is new award category honors a campaign that resonated particularly well with the judges.

E Source honored the winning ads at a special awards luncheon held during the 2018 E Source Forum. Check out all of the Utility Ad Awards Contest winners from 2018 and prior years; you can find photos from the awards luncheon in an album on the E Source Facebook page.

About E Source

For 30 years, E Source has been providing market research, data, and consulting services to more than 300 utilities and their partners. This guidance helps our customers advance their efficiency programs, enhance customer relationships, and use energy more efficiently.

Public relations contact

Sannie Sieper, Director of Marketing, E Source
Contact us

Contributing Authors

Director, Marketing

Sannie Sieper is responsible for leading the marketing, event, and member communications for E Source. She is passionate about marketing...