At the 2016 E Source Forum in Denver, Colorado, E Source announced the winners of the 2016 Utility Ad Awards Contest. First and second place in the category of Best Overall Campaign for Non-Investor-Owned Utility went to OUC and the Sacramento Municipal Utility District, respectively. Southern California Gas Co. earned first place in the category of Best Overall Campaign for Investor-Owned Utility and Idaho Power earned second place. The contest was open to electric and gas utilities in the US and Canada.

An independent group of judges selected the winners based on message, creativity, results, call to action or brand connection, and overall impression. Judges included Mindy Cheval, University of Colorado at Boulder, School of Journalism and Mass Communication; Connor Tubridy, Egg Strategy; Lucia Riley, SAS Institute; Dr. Nancy Boykin, Colorado State University; and Max Walter, Hollister Creative.

“We’re in the unique position of witnessing the incredible evolution of utility advertising over the past seven years with this contest,” says Kym Wootton, vice president of Marketing at E Source. “Utilities are clearly making huge strides. They’re thinking about their programs and branding from the customer’s perspective, which has resulted in highly effective campaigns. Congratulations to these innovative marketing and advertising teams!”

2016 E Source Utility Ad Awards Contest Winners

Best Overall Campaign for Non-Investor-Owned Utility

  1. OUC
  2. Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Best Overall Campaign for Investor-Owned Utility

  1. Southern California Gas Co.
  2. Idaho Power

Best TV/Video Ad

  1. Hydro One
  2. Puget Sound Energy (tie)
  3. Tennessee Valley Authority (tie)

Best Radio Ad

  1. Hydro One
  2. Manitoba Hydro

Best Residential Print Ad

  1. Toronto Hydro-Electric System Ltd.
  2. Union Gas

Best Business Print Ad

  1. Toronto Hydro-Electric System Ltd.
  2. APS

Best Outdoor Ad

  1. Austin Energy
  2. SRP

Best Digital Ad

  1. ComEd
  2. OUC

Best Social Media Ad

  1. KCP&L
  2. FortisBC

E Source presented Ameren Illinois with the Crowd-Pleaser Award, which was based on online recognition. Facebook users voted by “liking” their favorite print advertisement on the E Source Facebook page.

The winning ads were honored at a special awards luncheon held during the 2016 E Source Forum. The winning ads from 2016 and prior years can be viewed at

About E Source

For 30 years, E Source has been providing research, consulting, and market research to more than 300 utilities and their partners. This guidance helps our customers advance their efficiency programs, enhance customer relationships, and use energy more efficiently.

Public Relations Contact

Kym Wootton, Vice President of Marketing, E Source
Email Kym Wootton

Contributing Authors

Chief administrative officer

Kym Wootton oversees operations at E Source, which includes marketing, project management, IT, facilities, content management, and business...