At the 2015 E Source Forum in Denver, Colorado, E Source announced the winners of the 2015 Utility Ad Awards Contest. First and second place in the category of Best Overall Campaign for Non-Investor-Owned Utility went to Hydro One Networks Inc. and Orlando Utilities Commission, respectively. Alliant Energy earned first place in the category of Best Overall Campaign for Investor-Owned Utility and FirstEnergy and Duke Energy tied for second. The contest was open to US and Canadian electric and gas utilities.

An independent group of judges selected the winners based on message, creativity, results, call to action or brand connection, and overall impression. Judges included Mindy Cheval, University of Colorado at Boulder, School of Journalism and Mass Communication; Jessa Bliss, Friday Center for Continuing Education, University of Northern Colorado; Brett Schklar, Market Creation Group; Justin Engel, Egg Strategy; Lucia Riley, SAS Institute; and Max Walter, Hollister Creative.

“We received more than 500 ads from 55 utilities this year,” says Kym Wootton, vice president of Marketing at E Source. “Overall, the ads were impressive. It’s encouraging to see the new ways utility marketers are trying to connect with their customers. This year we saw fresh designs, clever imagery, and more-advanced customer segmentation. These ads really do get better every year!”

2015 E Source Utility Ad Awards Contest Winners

Best Overall Campaign for Non-Investor-Owned Utility

  1. Hydro One Networks Inc.
  2. Orlando Utilities Commission

Best Overall Campaign for Investor-Owned Utility

  1. Alliant Energy
  2. FirstEnergy (tie)
  3. Duke Energy (tie)

Best Television Ad

  1. Pacific Gas and Electric Co.
  2. Reliant

Best Radio Ad

  1. LG&E and KU
  2. Otter Tail Power Co.

Best Residential Print Ad

  1. Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited
  2. Touchstone Energy Cooperatives

Best Business Print Ad

  1. BC Hydro Power Smart
  2. Duke Energy

Best Outdoor Ad

  1. Orlando Utilities Commission
  2. ComEd

Best Digital Ad

  1. Seattle City Light
  2. Union Gas Limited

Best Social Media Ad

  1. PPL Electric Utilities
  2. National Grid

Additionally, Newfoundland Power & Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro won the Crowd-Pleaser Award, which was based on peer recognition. Facebook users voted by “liking” their favorite print advertisement on the E Source Facebook page.

The winning ads were honored at a special awards luncheon held during the 2015 E Source Forum. The ads can be viewed at Photos from the awards luncheon can be found on the E Source Flickr album.

About E Source

For 26 years, E Source has been providing research, consulting, and market research to more than 300 utilities and their partners. This guidance helps our customers advance their efficiency programs, enhance customer relationships, and use energy more efficiently.

Public Relations Contact

Kym Wootton, Vice President of Marketing, E Source
Email Kym Wootton

Contributing Authors

Chief administrative officer

Kym Wootton oversees operations at E Source, which includes marketing, project management, IT, facilities, content management, and business...